Who is Brahman | Definition of Brahman


There is alot of debate about the term "Brahman". In the past ,to become a Brahman , education, diksha ,and difficult penance had to be done,only after this one can fulfil the criteria of Brahmin. Gurukul is no longer a tradition. People born in the clan of those who had attained Brahmanism through their efforts also started thinking of themselves as Brahmins.

Those children of sages and saints consider themselves Brahmins, while they neither took education, nor initiation nor did they meditate hard. They have also been seen insulting Janeu.

Brahman Truth and Myth:

A Brahman who does not worship anyone except Brahma (God). The one who knows Brahma is called a Brahman. It is said that he who makes his living by priesthood is a Brahmin, not a priest. He who makes his living from astrologer or constellation is not a Brahmin, an astrologer, and he who narrates a story is a narrator, not a Brahmin.In other way we can say that whose mouth does not pronounce the word "Brahm", it is not a Brahmin.

na jataahi na gottehi na jachcha hoti braahmano. 
yamhi sachchan ch dhammo ch so suchee so ch braahmano.

That is, Lord Buddha says that a Brahmin is neither from Jata nor from gotra nor from birth. In which there is truth, there is religion and the one who is pure is the Brahmin. On the lotus leaf, like water and mustard at the tip of the saw, which does not indulge in subjects, I call it Brahmin.

Tasapāṇē viyāṇēttā saṅgahēṇa ya thāvarē.
Jō na hinsa'i tivihēṇa taṁ vayaṁ būma māhaṇaṁ.

That is to say: Mahavir Swami says that who knows this thing, who is a trinity, who is immovable. And mind, speech and body do not do violence to any living being, that is what we call a Brahmin.

na vi mundien samano na onkaaren bambhano.
na munee rannavaasenan kusacheeren na taavaso.

That is, Mahavir Swami says that no Shraman is created by shaving the head. By chanting Omkar, no one becomes a Brahmin. Only by going to the forest and settling does not one become a monk. One does not become ascetic just by wearing a Valkal dress.

Śanakaistu kriyālōpadināḥ kṣatriya jātayaḥ.
Vr̥ṣalatvaṁ gatā lōkē brāhmaṇā darśanēna ca.
Pauṇḍrakāśacauṇḍradraviḍāḥ kāmbōjāḥ bhavanāḥ śakāḥ.
Pāradāḥ pahalvāścīnāḥ kiratāḥ daradāḥ khaśāḥ.- Manusanhitā (1- (/43-44)

That is, due to the non-achievement of the achievement of Brahmanism, all these Kshatriya castes gradually attained to Shudra, due to the omission of that action, Pondra, Chaundra, Dravida Kamboja, Bhavan, Shaka, Parad, Pahlav, Chini Kirat, Dard and Khash. .

Anyone can become a Brahmin: Everyone has the right to be a Brahmin irrespective of any caste, province or sect. We can tell thousands of such examples, while many people from the Kshatriya community became Brahmins and many people from Brahmin society became Kshatriya. There are many Vaishyas who wore Kshatriyatva in the past and there are many Dalits who gave direction to the society by wearing Brahmanism.

Yes, it is true that to become a Brahmin one has to follow certain rules. Knowledge, courage, restraint, humility and values ​​have to be valued.

In the Smriti-Puranas, 8 distinctions of Brahman are found: - Matra, Brahmin, Kshatriya, Anuchan, Bhrun, Rishikalpa, Rishi and Muni. There are 8 types of Brahmins mentioned earlier in Shruti. Apart from this, Brahmins who are elevated from descent, knowledge and virtue are called 'Trishukla'. The Brahmin is also called the Dharmist Vipra and Dwij.

1. Matra: Brahmins who are Brahmins by caste but they are not Brahmins by karma are called mere. No one is called a Brahmin by taking birth in a Brahmin clan. Many Brahmins are away from Brahmin-oriented Upanayana rites and Vedic deeds, then they are just that. Some of them are not even this.

2. Brahmin:Those who are strong with God, Vedpathi, Brahmagami, simple, reclusive, truthful and intellect are called Brahmins. Except for the deeds of Puranicas, which perform various types of worship, etc., the one who conducts Vedas is said to be a Brahmin.

3. Kashatriya: According to the memory, any person who reads any one branch of the Veda with kalpa and all the six limbs remains enamored in the six deeds of Brahmanism, it is called 'Srotriya'.

4. Anuchan: Any person who is an enlightenment of the Vedas and Vedangas, sinless, pure mind, superior, teacher and scholar of the pupils, is considered as 'Anuchan'.

5. Bhrun: Having all the qualities of the ritual, he remains engaged only in Yajna and Swadhyaya, such a person who is self-restrained is called a fetus.

6. Hrishikalpa:Anyone who has knowledge of all Vedas, memories and cosmic subjects, subdues the mind and senses and resides in the ashram by always following celibacy is called Rishikalpa.

7. Rishi: Such a person is unconcerned and doubtful by being brahmachari while having proper diet, viharas etc. and whose curse and grace has started coming to fruition, that truthful and capable person has been called a sage.

8. Muni: A person who is situated in the path of isolation, knowledge of all elements, meditational, Jitendriya and Siddha, such a Brahmin is called 'Muni'.

Hinduism can be defined in many ways But the best way to define Hinduism is

“ The Oneness of Existence “ 

Followers of Sanatan Dharma believe in a universal soul or God or Goddesses in their own way.
It is believed that there is a part of Brahman in every individual for that people need to aware of the scriptures so that they can figure out how Brahman exist in them.

Read Also Meaning of Brahman

"The property or nature of Brahman is the nature of ultimate truth, knowledge and infinity." Brahman or the Supreme Self is beyond time and space, causation. He is limitless. He is tranquil. He shines with equal effulgence in all bodies. He cannot be any particular thing.
One Cannot Imagine Brahman or neither it could be grasped by mind,it is the essence which can only be realized in conscious stage.

Brahman is beyond time and space .He is limitless. He is tranquil. He shines with equal effulgence in all bodies. Brahman cannot be limited it is infinite.

Brahman is origin of all things.
So Brahman is life,energy,awareness,essence that everything is manifested.
Every Individual is one with the universe.
The oneness is nothing but but a way to 

“Uncover God in Everything’’ 
Either it is moving or unmoving. 
Happiness comes to those who knows this oneness by applying Vedic teachings and who knows that he is one with universe.
Om Tat Sat

Post a Comment